Most people can enter Singapore without needing a visa. However, citizens of certain countries must receive a visa from the relevant authorities before they may do so. There are 36 such countries, and those from any of these countries must be aware of the proper methods of receiving a visa.

Who need visa to travel to Singapore

A visa is a form of authorization granting a foreigner permission to enter, remain within, or depart from a particular country or territory. Visas are a very important part of international travel. This is due to their association with official permission to enter the area in question. Some of the information usually specified in a visa are permitted entry and departure dates, permitted areas of the country to be entered, and the duration for which the foreigner may remain in the country. Visas are usually placed within a foreigner’s passport or any other travel document. Certain countries have agreements that allow citizens to enter the corresponding countries without visas.

Requires a visa to travel to Singapore

Visa Laws in Singapore

Current immigration laws in Singapore state that visas are not required in cases of ordinary social visits spanning less than 14 days. Furthermore, all foreigners who enter the country receive a 14-day social visit pass when they first arrive in Singapore. Anyone who plans to remain in Singapore beyond this initial 14-day period must make an application to the Immigration Department.

Want to Start business in Singapore
Want to Start business in Singapore

Foreigners Who Require Visas

People who are citizens of any of 36 countries require a visa when they enter Singapore. These countries are divided into two categories: Assessment Level I and Assessment Level II countries.

There are a total of 15 Assessment Level I countries. Those from Assessment Level I countries may travel to Singapore after having printed out the e-visa. Once they have applied for a visa, they will usually receive it within one working day. Some of the more notable countries classified as Assessment Level I countries include China, India, Kazakhstan, Russia, and Ukraine.

The remaining 21 countries whose citizens require visas to enter Singapore are part of Assessment Level II. Those from such countries are required to obtain a visa in advance. After application, they will be likely to receive the visa within three working days. Once they have received the visa, a visa vignette will be placed on the foreigner’s passport. Notable Assessment Level II countries include Egypt, Iran, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia.

Foreigners Who Do Not Require Visas

Any citizen of a country which is neither an Assessment Level I nor an Assessment Level II country may remain in Singapore for up to 30 days without a visa. Of these countries, citizens of 34 of them may do so for up to 90 days instead of 30. These countries are Australia, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, Switzerland, the United States, and the 28 member countries of the European Union.

Furthermore, those from any of 18 countries who have an APEC Travel Business Card relevant to Singapore may enter the country for business trips without needing a visa. The card is relevant to Singapore if it bears the “SGP” code on its reverse. Citizens of eligible countries may remain in the country for up to 60 days. Some of the countries to which this applies include Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, and Russia.